InGalleria is a digital project that collects all the cultural and artistic heritage of the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II in Milandiscover more
DISCOVER THE RESTORATION PROCESS
The restoration work, spanning from March 2014 to April 2015, foresees the presence of an average of 12 restorers and approximately 35,000 hours of work. Gasparoli s.r.l. performs the restoration of the surfaces (plaster, stone elements, stucco, decorative concrete), while all the work related to the scaffolding, temporary works and site installations is performed by Impresa Percassi s.r.l.discover more
1859 - A LOTTERY FOR THE WORKS OF THE NEW PIAZZA DEL DUOMO
On December 5th 1859, a decree signed by King Vittorio Emanuele II authorized City Hall to issue 2 millions lottery tickets for 10 lira each, assigning the net proceeds to the initiative.discover more
On November 23rd Giuseppe Francesco Giulio Mengoni was born in Fontana (today Fontanelice)...discover more
DISCOVER THE INNOVATIVE SCAFFOLD.
The history of the Galleria is also the story of a great construction project. Little time and money, and great ambitions are dating back to 1865. It is very interesting to browse the numerous photos from the archive. One picture in particular stands out among the others, which is of the great multi-level mobile scaffolding in the center of the Octagon, which had been set up to construct the Dome...discover more
Having finally completed the delicate coverage phase of the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele in late May 1867, the London-based granting construction company...discover more
THE BULL, DISCOVER THE ORIGIN OF THE MYTH
The custom, founded as a mockery and insult to the rival city, says that brings luck to put your foot on the attributes of the bull and complete a full circle with eyes closed!discover more
The cultural heritage
Discover how Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II has once again become the "Salotto dei Milanesi”Watch the video
To raise founds, the local administration launched a lottery that had little success: most of the tickets remained unsold.tweet it !
At the time of his participation in the competition for the reworking of Piazza Duomo, Giuseppe Mengoni had just celebrated his 30th birthday.tweet it !
The four lunettes of the Ottagono were originally painted in tempera on large canvas panels, they later suffered serious damage and were replaced between 1911 and 1921 with mosaics by Alessandro del Prat, shown in detail.tweet it !
Mengoni was the first Italian architect to combine iron and glass leaving them exposed to view.tweet it !
The ample niche located under the arch opening on Piazza della Scala was, for many years, the space reserved for small bands that held evening concerts for those patronizing the restaurant that occupied that wing of the Galleria originally named Gnocchi, then Gambrinus and finally Grand’Italia.tweet it !
The Gallery was the scene of many demonstrations, often to the Campari’s detriment, including having its window broken 87 times in 40 years.tweet it !
The great entry arch in the direction of Piazza Duomo was conceived as a triumphal arch, it was to be crowned by a sculptural group with quadriga and to be mirrored by another identical arch on the southern arcades side. The plan was never carried out.tweet it !